The History of My Autism

The History of My Autism

by Christy Walk

Originally posted at https://christyautisticwalk.wordpress.com/2016/10/27/the-history-of-my-autism/


 

Hi, my name is Christy. I am an autistic adult, and I turned 29 years old in August. I am going to tell you my autistic history.

My story opened on October 12, 1987. I became very sick with menengitis. I have heard of many people that died from it. I had to go to the hospital to get some medicine for it. That day, on October 12, 1987, I was diagnosed with autism. I didn’t know I was autistic until I was in sixth grade.

In seventh grade, I went to see a therapist who introduced me to Donna Williams’ books. She read to me pages of a book called Nobody Nowhere. I was really fascinated with that book. I really liked it and I want to get it one day. I was intrigued by Donna’s story, and loved learning about her. I have seen her brilliant artwork and read her awesome poetry. She is a really awesome author, poet and artist.

In high school, I participated in Special Education classes for three and a half years and went on the disability school bus. I really enjoyed going to restaurants and swimming at Aquabilities. The worst part about it was the way my Special Ed teachers acted towards me. I hated that they rolled their eyes at me and yelled at me everytime I made a mistake.

I attended speech class every year as a student of my school that I went to. I usually attended speech class alone, with a friend, or with my Special Ed classmates. I attended IEP meetings in middle and high school. In speech class I was scolded for being late which I didn’t like at all. I was not happy about that because I don’t like being scolded in the first place.

My mom signed me up for SSI and got me health insurance through Gateway in 2005. I got denied several times for health insurance, but then Gateway accepted me. I’m glad that they accepted me, because none of the others really wanted to bother anyway.

In 2006, I graduated from high school. I was really glad to get out of there because I was always so tired after school, that I fell asleep in my bedroom. I lived with my grandmother from then at the time of her death in 2011. My grandmother and I used to go on trips, eat out at restaurants like O’Grady’s and Route 61 Diner (my personal favorite), and shopping at Big Lots. In 2010, she and I moved back to my hometown. I liked where she and I used to live because the pine smell was always in the house. It always smelled like pine whenever I was there. When she went into the hospital in 2011, I went to my mom and stepdad’s house to live there.

In 2012, I joined the choir at Grace Bible Fellowship Church, and it was a lot of fun the first year that I was in it. I have been attending GBFC since 2010, and it’s such a good church. The pastor is accepting of me, and so are my fellow choir members and fellow members of my congregation. They are a great group of people and I love them dearly.

Published by

kpagination

Autistic disability and mental health rights advocate. Part of the LGBTQ+ community. I like writing lengthy 101 guides.

Leave a Reply

